Please enable JavaScript to view this site.

Nx Witness User Manual

The table on this page details the Permissions available to each Built-in Group.

•Built-In groups cannot be renamed or modified.

•Except for the Administrators Group, Custom Groups can be members of Built-In Groups.

•Built in Groups cannot be members of Custom Groups (see "Configuring Groups").

Action

Built In Groups

Administrators

(Owner in 5.x)

Power Users

(Administrator in 5.x)

Advanced

Viewers

Viewers

Live Viewers

System Health Viewers

Configure System Settings


Edit System Name

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Configure General Settings

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Install System Updates

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Activate Licenses

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Deactivate Licenses

✔

 

 

 

 

 

Create, Edit, Delete Regular Users

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Create, Edit, Delete Regular Groups

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Create, Edit, Delete Power Users

✔

 

 

 

 

 

Create, Edit, Delete Administrators

 

 

 

 

 

 

Configure Email Server Settings

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Configure Security Settings

✔

see "Security Level"

 

 

 

 

Configure Time Synchronization Settings

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Configure Routing Settings

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Configure Plugins

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Create System Backup

✔

 

 

 

 

 

Restore from System Backup

✔

 

 

 

 

 

Manage Logs

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Update System

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Merge Systems

✔

 

 

 

 

 

Connect System to Cloud

✔

 

 

 

 

 

Disconnect the System from the Cloud

✔

 

 

 

 

 

Audit Trail

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Configure Server Settings


Rename Server

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Auto-detect built-in and USB camera

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Configure Failover (all settings)

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Detach Server (from System)

✔

 

 

 

 

 

Delete Server (Resource Panel, not online Servers)

✔

 

 

 

 

 

Reset to Defaults

✔

 

 

 

 

 

Restart Server

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Add, Edit, Delete Storage Management

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Manage Analytic DB Storage

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Reindex (Archive + Backup)

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Configure Backup Settings

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Pin Certificate (in case of certificate error)

✔

 

 

 

 

 

Cameras and Devices


View Live all Camera and Devices

✔

✔

✔

✔

✔

 

View Live all Web Pages and Integrations

✔

✔

✔

✔

✔

 

View Live all Server Health Monitors

✔

✔

✔

✔

✔

✔

View Archive

✔

✔

✔

✔

 

 

Manage Bookmarks

✔

✔

✔

 

 

 

User Input (PTZ, 2-Way Audio, Soft Triggers, I/O Buttons)

✔

✔

✔

 

 

 

Generate Events

✔

✔

✔

 

 

 

Edit Settings all Cameras and Devices

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Edit Setting all Video Walls

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

View Event Log

✔

✔

✔

 

 

 

Edit Event Rules

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Edit Device Settings

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

View Bookmarks

✔

✔

✔

✔

 

 

Export Archive

✔

✔

✔

✔

 

 

Other Resources


View, Edit, Rename, and Delete Shared Layouts

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Create new Shared Layouts

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Configure and access Video Walls

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Web Admin / Cloud Portal


View Metrics & Alerts

✔

✔

 

 

 

✔

View Monitoring & Graphs

✔

✔

 

 

 

✔

View Monitoring & Logs

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

! IMPORTANT: Many of the features and functions described in this manual are only available to Users with the appropriate Permissions.